The first lesson: Pierwsza lekcja

Not in this world to see his face
Sounds long, until I read the place
Where this is said to be
But just the primer to a life
Unopened, rare, upon the shelf,
Clasped yet to him and me.

 

And yet, my primer suits me so
I would not choose a book to know
Than that, be sweeter wise;
Might some one else so learned be,
And leave me just my A B C,
Himself could have the skies.

 

*****

 

Nie na tej ziemi twarz jego widzieć
Długo, nim patrzę w wyimek
Gdzie mówią, że to jest
W elementarzu tym, życiowym
Rzadkim, na półce, a zamknionym
Klamerką, li dla niego i mnie.

 

A miły mi tak mój elementarz
Że nie obrałabym książki pamiętać
Różnej niż ta, mądrością najdroższa;
Inni niech będą uczeni dalece,
Mnie pozostawcie moje Abece,
On niech przestworza zachowa.

Feel welcome to comment

