So bashful when I spied her

So bashful when I spied her,
So pretty, so ashamed!
So hidden in her leaflets,
Lest anybody find;

 

So breathless till I passed her,
So helpless when I turned
And bore her, struggling, blushing,
Her simple haunts beyond!

 

For whom I robbed the dingle,
For whom betrayed the dell,
Many will doubtless ask me,
But I shall never tell!

 

*****

 

Nieśmiała tak, gdy ją wyśledziłam,
Taka ładna, a tak wstydliwa!
Schowana tak w jej listowiu,
Aby nie znalazł jej nikt;

 

Tchu mniej tak, nim obok byłam,
Bezsilna tak, gdy się zwróciłam
I ją uniosłam, borykając się, a rumieniąc
Naturalnego jej czaru mgiełką!

 

Dla kogo złupiłam kotlinkę,
Dla kogo zdradziłam dolinkę,
Wielu mnie pewnie zapyta,
Ale ja nie powiem nigdy!

Feel welcome to comment

